We are working on upgrading our websites and despite our best endeavours have experienced census type calamities for almost a week now. Our apologies, we hope to have all problems resolved by Monday August 15th.

InvestoGain Australia



Browse Australian listed companies

0-9A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W XY Z

Browse current Australian managed funds

0-9A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Find any Australian or New Zealand company or fund (dead or alive) by using SEARCH above or go directly to the site:


Listed on ASX


(discontinued 17 July 2020)

Former (or subsequent) names

Shareholder links

Our website ranking of IAG: rating 5
(5 out of 5)



Computershare, Level 3, 60 Carrington Street, Sydney NSW 2000

Tel : +61 (0)3 9415 4000 or 1300 850 505 (within Australia)
Fax : +61 2 8235 8150
RegistryWebsite RegistryEmail

Company details

Address: Level 13, Tower Two Darling Park 201 Sussex Street Sydney NSW 2000
Tel:  (02) 9292 9222 Fax: (02) 9292 8072

Date first listed: 08/08/2000
Company Secretary: Peter Horton, Jane Bowd
Sector: Insurance Industry Group: XFJ
Activities: General insurance group owning insurance brands including NRMA Insurance, GIO, SGIC, CGU and Swann Insurance in Australia, and State Insurance and NZI in New Zealand - authorised by APRA under section 18 of the Insurance Act 1973 (current as of October 2011)

we understand that on or about this date the company made a capital return of 19.5 cents per share


The convertible preference shares ("CPS") of Insurance Australia Group Limited will be suspended from quotation from the close of trading today, Friday 7 April 2017, in connection with the Company's buy-back of all remaining CPS on 1 May 2017, and in accordance with the timetable announced on 5 April 2017. All other quoted securities of the Company will NOT be suspended.


The 5.63% reset convertible preference shares ("RPS") of Insurance Australia Group Limited (the "Company") will be suspended from quotation immediately in connection with the Company" buy-back of all remaining RPS on 15 June 2012, and in accordance with the timetable announced on 27 March 2012. Security Code: IAGPA All other quoted securities of the Company will NOT be suspended


IAG's Malaysian joint venture AmG Insurance has entered into an agreement to acquire key rival Kurnia Insurans for $480 million.


many shareholders in this company have unclaimed money due to them - deListed provides a tracing service for a small administration fee that identifies where people can find unclaimed monies arising from compulsory acquisitions and also from dividend distributions, super contributions, inoperative bank, building society or credit union accounts, bequests and other sources - please click here for access to our Lost shares, Lost money?? service


we understand that on or about this date the company undertook, proposed to undertake or was the subject of the following corporate action: - declares special dividend of 12.5c per ordinary share - this corporate event may appear elsewhere in this company record


in May 2004, IAG announced a share buy-back - shareholders who took part in the buy-back received $4.40 per share, which included a fully franked dividend of $2.62 per share - the date the shares were sold under the buy-back was 21 June 2004 - for capital gains tax purposes, they are taken to have received $2.16 per share - if the capital proceeds of $2.16 were more than the cost base of the share, the difference was a capital gain in 2003-04 - if $2.16 was less than the share's reduced cost base, the difference was a capital loss


offers opened on 4 November 2002 for shareholders to purchase shares from IAG for $2.40 per share free of brokerage and transaction costs - according to the Australian Tax Office there are no CGT consequences at the time of purchase - however, there are taxation consequences in relation to owning and disposing of the shares purchased


name changed from NRMA Insurance Group Limited


ASX Announcements (courtesy of ASX)


Your comments

Please read our Terms before viewing comments.


Company Updates

Post your comments here

Please read our Terms before posting comments.
    You can post a comment here about this company

    Please click in the "I'm not a robot" box and enter the word/figures you see in the image that then appears.

    loading Posting your comments. Please wait...

    Directors' on-market share transactions (last 5)

    rss feeds

    Purchases Sales

    14/11/2019George Savvides8,660$7.868$68,135
    08/11/2019Peter Harmer-400,000$7.919$3,167,699
    06/03/2019Peter Harmer-120,000$7.720$926,410
    20/11/2018Helen Nugent7,000$7.059$49,415
    09/03/2018Peter Harmer-120,000$-8.065$967,800

    Click here for the last 20 transactions all companies

    Directors & Executives (current)

    Elizabeth BryanChairman05/12/2014
    Peter HarmerManaging Director, CEO16/11/2015
    Nicholas HawkinsDeputy CEO, CFO01/07/2008
    Michelle McPhersonCFO08/04/2020
    Sheila McGregorIndependent Director13/03/2018
    Helen NugentIndependent Director23/12/2016
    George SavvidesIndependent Director12/06/2019
    Duncan BoyleIndependent Director23/12/2016
    Philip TwymanIndependent Director09/07/2008
    Simon AllenIndependent Director12/11/2019
    Jonathan NicholsonIndependent Director, Non Exec Director01/09/2015
    Hugh FletcherIndependent Director01/09/2007
    Michelle TredenickIndependent Director13/03/2018
    Raymond LimIndependent Director01/02/2013
    Thomas PockettNon Exec Director01/01/2015
    Chris BertuchGeneral Counsel10/05/2011
    Carolyn McCannInvestor Relations

    Date of first appointment, title may have changed.

    Directors & Executives (former)

    Alison DeansIndependent Director01/02/201320/10/2017
    Brian SchwartzNon Exec Chairman, Independent Director01/01/200531/03/2016
    Michael WilkinsManaging Director, CEO26/11/200731/03/2016
    Yasmin AllenIndependent Director10/11/200430/09/2015
    Peter BushIndependent Director07/12/201001/01/2015
    Nora ScheinkestelIndependent Director01/07/201316/09/2014
    Anna HynesNon Exec Director01/09/200701/02/2013
    Phillip ColebatchNon Exec Director01/01/200731/08/2012
    James StrongNon Exec Chairman02/08/200126/08/2010
    Rowan RossNon Exec Director31/08/2008
    Neil HamiltonNon Exec Director31/08/2008
    Michael HawkerCEO01/12/200126/05/2008
    John AstburyNon Exec Director31/08/2007
    Geoffrey CousinsNon Exec Director31/08/2007
    Anne KeatingNon Exec Director10/11/2004
    Dominique FisherNon Exec Director10/11/2004
    Mary EassonNon Exec Director01/09/2003
    Maree CallaghanExecutive Director01/09/2003
    Gayne MorstynCompany Secretary, General Counsel02/07/2002
    Ian StanwellNon Exec Director28/03/2002

    Date of first appointment, title may have changed.